Energy porridge with blueberries and bananas

Energy porridge with blueberries and banana

Good morning with porridge! Oatmeal porridge, alongside with smoothie, is my absolute favorite breakfast. I know what you’re gonna think first – oats don’t taste that good. Trust me – by combining them correctly they can delight you with the richness and the diversity of flavours!

I love to cook; I am glad to spend all of my day in the kitchen. Chopping vegetables, preparing sauces and, in the end, shooting finished dishes soothe my inner gourmande.

Similar goes with the preparation of breakfasts, especially when preparing porridge. Before I got to know how to prepare them to my liking, I didn’t like oats at all and frankly, I wondered how could anyone possibly love them. Until one day when, while reading a book from Harry Potter series (I am, if you didn’t already know that, a big fan), I came across the word porridge.

Energy porridge with blueberries and bananas

So, as I loved to experiment with food even then, of course I needed to know what porridge exactly was. I found my answer at the wonderful Jamie Oliver‘s page! Since then, I’ve also tracked down many #breakfastbowl posts on Instagram and developed my own preferences when it comes to porridge preparation; now it’s a must breakfast several times a week!

Energy porridge with blueberries and bananas

The many choices of preparation are what I love the most – especially in choosing of fresh, delicious fruit toppings (my favourite – banana, what else?). All the flavours playfully mix so you get a little bowl of happiness that can lighten the grayest of mornings!

Energy porridge with blueberries and bananas

This recipe represents the express version of porridge, as I used whole-wheat thin cut oats so there was no need to cook them or soften them in any other way to make them taste better – just added (not too) warm milk.

The result was a tummy full of healthy porridgy goodness that held me satiated ’till lunch time!

Energy porridge with blueberries and bananas

Ingredients for Energy porridge with blueberries and banana for 1 person:
1/2 banana
1 cup (240ml) milk of your choice
70 gr whole-wheat thin cut oats
a handful of blueberries
1 tbsp chopped almonds
1 tsp desiccated coconut
pinch of cinnamon
2 tbs chia seeds
1 tbs flax seeds

Add the oats to a bowl you will eat from. Stir in cinnamon, chia and flax seeds. Heat the milk till lukewarm, then add it to the oats. Decorate the top with banana, blueberries, almonds and coconut; you can also add a bit more cinnamon, chia and flax seeds. If you prefer sweeter, feel free to sweeten with rice syrup, agave syrup, coconut sugar or any other natural sweetener!

Leave a Reply

